Professional Hopes and Goals

When I think about working with children and families who come from diverse backgrounds, I hope what I have learned from my course study can really be helpful for me to build good relationships with them. I hope that when I become a positive role model for the children as well as work professionally with parents, students and colleagues towards cultural diversity. I hope that I am supported by my team and being understood by my parents in all time, and when there comes an issue we can solve out respectfully and cooperatively.

As for the goal related to issues of diversity, equity, and social justice in early childhood field, I am keen in helping immigrant children and students who speak other languages than English from being culturally marginalized and/or psychological inferior in school.

I learned more than I thought in this 8-weeks journey and it is my pleasure to sharing my views and ideas with learning colleagues from all over the world. Every week when I read those posts from my colleagues, it was like sparkles that enlighten my small universe and showing me the path that, ‘that’s right, I can actually think in this way!’ Wish u all success in the future study in Walden and keep going with passion in becoming early childhood professionals!

Course Study: Perspective Diversity & Equity

Reference:

Derman-Sparks, L and Edwards, J. (2010) Anti-Bias Education for Young Children and Ourselves. National Association for the Education of Young Children.

3 responses to “Professional Hopes and Goals

  1. Vivian,

    Thank you for sharing this post! I am sure you will become the great and positive role model you strive to be for children and their families. I wish you all the best in the future. Thank you for all of your thoughts and opinions over these past 8 weeks, Good luck in the future!

  2. Jacqualine Sibley-Jones

    Thank you for sharing throughout this course. I acknowledge the fact that you are of a different race and that you perspective aided in my learning experience tremendously.Overall their were so many different lessons learned and I am grateful. Good luck with your next course and God bless!

Leave a comment